art by klingborn

[email protected]

Reviews

Kategori: 8) Reviews

Art critic

Lovely music arises

I see a series of paintings by Susanna Klingborn and I am enthusiastic.

Why?

That question, "Why?", I must, and should, often ask myself when I see art.  Not that the analysis is always important when you see or write -or lecture- on art.  No.  But Susanna Klingborn's art has characteristics that attract solely my emotional life.

It appears she is not painting with reason but rather with her heart.  And that is a big difference; dry intellectual art gives me nothing in return. It prevents me from listening to the hearts song playing in my chest. Susanna Klingborn's artwork is instead filled with life’s warmth and flight of spirit.

Her paintings reach me like a letter I have been longing for.  The pictures are the answers to my eternal curiosity of what life can give us and emotions, dreams, desires, secrets and holy conditions of which art is constructed.

Think of it this way:

Somewhere there is a creature -Susanna Klingborn- who is expressing herself in the form of art. She lets her hand stroke the canvas -or whatever she paints on- and in front of her eyes appears a spiritual language, the voice of a soul. Elsewhere, there is another creature  -i.e. myself- that beholds Susanna Klingborn's images.  The two of us -Susanna and I- suddenly come together through her art.

This is where the miracle happens, human speaks to human. To quote the Danish poet Jens Auguste Schade who said: "People meet ... and sweet music arises."

I say: People paint and people see paintings, and sweet music arises.

Susanna Klingborn is capable of creating paintings that get under your skin. She wants to give me something, and gives me sight with her painting. What happens is beautiful, and in that moment I find her way of painting motivating my search for the meaning of art.

Sometimes she paints faces -often faces-  faces, that appear to float towards me, searching for a place to land and to connect.  And is this not the true purpose of art, the search for a connection, a place to land and rest?

More could be told: Her artwork is the foundation to many thoughts and conversations about why and whereto. However here I hold. The day is late and for me it is late in life -but right now- in a late hour- I confess that I have seen art, which has shown me a bit of life’s value.  

Susanna Klingborn is the name of the painter.

Man meets art -and sweet music arises.

 

Stig Åke Stålnacke

2015-12-21

Member of AICA, International Association of Art Critics

 

 

Konstkritik

Ljuv musik uppstår

Jag ser en svit målningar av Susanna Klingborn och jag blir entusiastisk.

Varför?

Den frågan, varför, måste och borde jag ofta ställa mig när jag ser konst. Inte så att analysen alltid är viktig när man ser eller skriver -eller föreläser- om konst. Nej. Men Susanna Klingborns konst har egenskaper som locka endast mitt känsloliv.

Hon tycks mig inte måla med förnuftet utan med hjärtat. Och det är en stor skillnad, en torr intellektuell konst har jag knappast utbyte av. Den skiljer mig från hjärtats sång i mitt bröst. Susanna Klingborns bilder däremot genomströmmas av livets varma känslor och andens flykt.

Hennes måleri når mig som ett brev som jag längtat stort efter. Bilderna är svar på min eviga undran om vad livet kan ge oss och vilka känslor, drömmar, lustar och hemliga och heliga tillstånd som konst kan bygga på.

Se det så här:

Någonstans sitter en varelse -Susanna Klingborn- och formulerar sig i bild. Hon låter sin hand smeka duken -eller vad hon nu målar på- och framför hennes ögon framträder ett andens språk, ett själens röst. Så då, någon annanstans, sitter en annan varelse -dvs. jag- och får syn på Susanna Klingborns bilder. Vi två- Susanna och jag- möts plötsligt genom konsten.

Det är där som undret sker, människa talar till människa. Och för att citera den danske diktaren Jens Augus Schade som säger: Människor möts…och ljuv musik uppstår.

Jag påstår: Människor målar och människor ser målerierna, och ljuv musik uppstår.

Susanna Klingborn mäktar att skapa målerier som går under ytan. Hon vill mig något och hon gör mig seende med sitt måleri. Och det som sker är vackert och i en sådan stund tycker jag att hennes sätt att måla motiverar hela mitt sökande efter en konstens mening.

Hon kan ibland måla ansikten -ofta ansikten, ansikten- som tycks flyta mot mig, sökande efter strand eller kontakt. Och handlar inte mycket av konsten om just detta sökande efter ett möte, en strand att vila vid??

Mer skulle kunna sägas: Hennes konstnärskap ger underlag för många undringar och goda samtal om varför och varthän. Men här stannar jag nu. Det är sent på dagen och för mig sent i livet -men just nu- i en sen stund- kan jag bekänna att jag sett en konst som givit mig en bit livsmening.

Susanna Klingborn heter målaren som gjort bilderna.

Människa möter konst -och ljuv musik uppstår.

 

Stig Åke Stålnacke

2015-12-21

Member of AICA, International Association of Art Critics

Kommentera inlägget här: